I don’t know how this could’ve happened, but when I walked out of the house this morning to take my bike to the shop, I was surprised to find it missing. I carefully went through all the bicycles on the street and and after a careful examination of each and every one of them I was indeed forced to conclude that mine had been nicked.

 

However, as I’m quite sure I locked it last night when returning from the field trip, it doesn’t make much sense to think that it was stolen. Unlocked bicycles are considered “common goods” in Copenhagen and if you don’t lock yours you shouldn’t be surprised if it’s gone within an hour (or a minute, if it’s Friday). I on the other hand am quite sure I locked mine. And yet it’s gone.

 

Also, there are literally a million other bikes on my street alone. Well, maybe not literally, but I can’t think why anyone would bother stealing my rusty old runt when there’s a perfectly good selection of better specimens around.

 

In any case, that’s 600 DKK down the drain. What’s more frustrating is that I must now find a new bike, which will in turn use up precious time. Until I do get my hands on a new one I’m forced to rely on public transport for getting around the city, which on it’s own means spending another 150 DKK on a clip card. With the semester now in full swing and with lots of other affairs requiring my urgent attention, I’ll be fortunate to get away with buying just one of these.

 

Luckily I still got some Vana Tallinn left and while sipping on 90-proof liquor is not the most productive way of dealing with a problem, it most certainly is the tastiest.

 

.

 

