“Or do you only know the Disney version?” asked the lecturer when introducing us to the religious motifs in “The Little Mermaid”. I shook my head faintly and then turned my head in shame.

 

I left the lecture with my thoughts still with the foxy fish woman and headed to the old Amager campus to catch the 4 o’clock happy hour (15 DKK beers anyone?) and discuss the plans for the cheap dinner night in Christiania as well as the upcoming Culture Night. As the Culture Night takes place today we bought our “culture kits” at the campus bar. Costing 85 DKK, the kit included a booklet with all the events, a city map full of lies (the Little Mermaid is in China and inviting the disabled to a robot dance workshop is just mean), a pin and an event pass. The pass itself grants you free use of the metro and the S-trains, aside from functioning as a ticket to all of the 900-odd events in the programme. Maria’s kit included all of the above times two, which made me somewhat jealous. The programme, I discovered much to my dismay, was all in Danish.

 

Thus I’m not sure what 85 DKK will get me but I think getting to “feed the carnivores at the zoo” and “tank rampage at the army base” were implied.

 

 

This is both the face of confusion and exuberance.

 

With the happy hour coming to an end we proceeded straight to Christiania for some general merriment before the 20 DKK dinner at Loppen. We also linked up with my former flatmate Ivo and after discussing the lack of dinosaurs in the modern era (it made sense at the time) we headed for the dinner.

 

We arrived a bit late and found ourselves at the back of a long queue. Maria decided to stay put but Ivo and I, slowly starving to death, embarked on a mini-burger hunt in the city. After some initial trouble we ended up in Irma and somehow managed to explain to the clerk what it is that we’re after. She sent us to Dogn Netto and, after getting lost in the aisles there, we emerged triumphant with a pack of mini-burgers each. For 14 DKK, it is both the tastiest as well as the most shameful midnight snack in Copenhagen. The make-believe dinner had enough juice though to keep us going through a quick concert at the Operaen and a rock gig at Drone later on.

 

Also, yesterday I found a puzzling and a downright sadistic sign near the new Amager campus:

 

 

The Danes would call it “keeping things tidy”, but I would call it “genocide”. In either case, congratulations Copenhagen, for you’ve clearly managed to starve the poor ducks to death.

 

.

 

